Editing a page

When your website is created for you, much of the information required will have been transferred over from your old website. However, as time progresses it may be that this information needs to be removed or altered. Luckily, editing your web pages is an easy process.

Editing a page

  • In order to edit a page, you will need to log in.
  • Select ‘Pages’ from the black sidebar. You will be taken to an index of all the pages that are on your website. You can use the search box to find pages as well.
  • It is also possible to edit the page from the main website by using the ‘Edit Page’ option at the top of the page.
  • Select the page you wish to edit, and the editor will open.

Screenshot of the editor

  • All of the information on your page should be displayed in this box, and all revisions should be made here. There is a small selection of tools at the top of this box to help you.

Screenshot of the toolbar in the editor

  • If you cannot see all these tools, please ensure that the ‘Toolbar Toggle’ button (shown above) has been selected.

Changing the title

  • Beneath the title you will find the ‘Permalink’ for this page. This is the web address for this specific page. It will automatically copy the title into the permalink, so there’s no need to worry about it unless you change the title of the page.
  • In general we do not recommend that you change the title or contents of your pages. Keeping things consistent will make your website easier to navigate. If you do feel the need to change the title of your website more than once, you will also have to alter the permalink.

Screenshot showing my title change in the editor

  • Here I have decided to change the name of my page to ‘My New Page’ and I have clicked the blue ‘Update’ button to save my changes. As you can see, the permalink does not reflect my new title.
  • By clicking on the ‘Edit’ button at the end of the permalink, you can alter the web address.

Screenshot showing my permalink change in the title options

  • To keep the style consistent across your website, we recommend that you add a dash in between each word of the permalink. Click ‘OK’ to save your permalink changes.
  • Be aware that if you have links to this page on your site, they will still navigate to the old permalink. Since this permalink will no longer exist, an error screen will display. Please remember to update your links if you change them.

Formatting and text styles

Screenshot of heading options in the editor

All text should be written in ‘Paragraph’, which is the default setting. It is possible to make writing bigger or smaller using the Headings, although this should only be used to divide pages into sections. For reference, gpsurgery.net uses ‘Heading 3’ as the default for our section breaks.

You can use the Bold and Italic options to emphasise text, although we recommend using this sparingly to maximise their impact.

Copying and pasting text

Many practices find it convenient to copy and paste text from a website or an internal email directly into the editor to save having to write it out again. This is perfectly acceptable, but you need to be aware of hidden code when you do so.

Example of text I have copied in the Visual tab

This is a sentence from my Google Doc that I have copy and pasted into the editor. From the Visual tab (as you can see from the top right hand corner), it appears that the sentence is fine.

Example of text I have copied in the Text tab

However, when we view the same sentence from the Text tab (as you can see from the top right hand corner), you can see that some code has been copied into the editor as well. If I published this web page with this hidden code, the format of the page might be affected.

Luckily, there is a simple solution to this, to make copying and pasting hassle-free.

Paste as text

Screenshot of the 'paste as text' button in the editor

Before you start typing or pasting text into the editor, select the ‘Paste as Text’ button as highlighted above. This will remove all unwanted formatting from the text that is inserted into this page. Be aware that if your copied text included bullet points, bold text, or any other formatting that you wished to keep, you will have to manually reformat it.

Clear formatting

If you have already copy and pasted something into your web page and forgot to paste as text, it is possible to change it.

Screenshot of the 'clear formatting' button in the editor.

By highlighting the text and selecting the ‘Clear formatting’ button, you can remove the format of text without having to start from scratch. Be aware that if your copied text included bullet points, bold text, or any other formatting that you wished to keep, you will have to manually reformat it.

Adding links and media to your page

It isn’t just text that you can add to your page, you can include links to other web pages, images, and documents. For more information you can visit these pages.

Adding an image to your page.

Adding a link to your page.

Adding a document to your page.

When you have made all the revisions to your page that you wished to make, don’t forget to click on the blue ‘Publish’ button to save your changes!

Deleting a page

As your practice grows and changes, it may be that some of the pages on your website are no longer relevant. It is possible to delete these pages, so that they no longer appear.

  • In order to edit a page, you will need to log in.
  • Select ‘Pages’ from the black sidebar. You will be taken to an index of all the pages that are on your website. You can use the search box to find pages if you cannot find a particular page.
  • It is also possible to delete the page from the main website by using the ‘Edit Page’ option at the top of the page.

Screenshot of the bin option on the Pages page.

  • By hovering your mouse over the page you wish to delete, you will notice that a list of options will appear. In this instance, select ‘Bin’. This will move your page to the bin, and it will no longer be visible on your website.

Once you have deleted one or more pages from our website, you will notice that a new option appears at the top of the ‘Pages’ screen.

Screenshot of the bin option on the Pages page.

Although you will have removed your page from your website, it will still exist in the ‘Bin’. If you have deleted your page by accident, you will be able to ‘Restore’ it from here. Restored pages will retain all of their previous settings and formatting.

From the bin you will be able to delete pages permanently. You will not be able to restore these pages.

After deleting a page you may get a pop up message warning you about the deletion. Unless you have linked the page on lots of other different pages, you can safely ignore this pop up.