All pages within your website (including news items and alerts) can be set to one of three states; published, pending review, or draft. In addition to this, you can change the visibility of the page to; public, password protected, or private.
It is also possible to view the revisions that have been made to a page, and revert a page to an earlier state if necessary.
In the majority of circumstances you will have no need to alter these options, but they can provide you with more options when designing and updating your website.
- In order to change the publish status and visibility of pages, you will need to log in.
- Navigate to the page you wish to view, either through the main site or using the ‘Pages’ option from the black sidebar. Selecting ‘Edit Page’ will open up the editor.
- In the top right hand corner of the screen you will see a box called ‘Publish’. This is where you can make your alterations.
This is the default status for pages that have been created and uploaded to your website. ‘Published’ pages are visible to everyone and can be navigated to, assuming that they have a parent page.
Status: Pending review
If you have created a page but are uncertain whether it is ready to be published, you can set it to ‘Pending Review’. These pages will be marked in the ‘Pages’ section of the dashboard, and will not be visible on the live website. You or a colleague can then check that the page is fit for purpose before publishing it.
This is the default state for pages that you are in the middle of creating. Similar to pages that are ‘Pending Review’, these pages will not be visible on the live website. You can view these pages in the ‘Pages’ section of the dashboard and finish them before publishing.
This is the default visibility for pages on your website. They are visible to the public, which means that they can be viewed by anyone. For the majority of the information on your website, this is ideal.
Visibility: Password protected
It may be that you have certain pages on your website that you only wish to be visible to certain people. Perhaps you have a ‘Staff’ page where information relevant to your employees can be found. In this case you can make a page ‘Password protected’.
You can set a password and the page will ask you for this password before allowing you to view the information on it. This should only be used for select portions of your website, if at all.
It is possible to hide certain pages on your website by making them ‘Private’. Private pages will not display to a user who is not logged in, such as your visitors.
Whenever you make changes to and update a page, the system will automatically make a note of these revisions. By using the ‘Revisions’ button you will be able to view these revisions, and also restore a previous version of the page if necessary.