Manage your alerts

Alerts are a feature that allow you to highlight important information for a given amount of time. They are prominently placed on the home page to ensure that visitors can see them when they visit the website.

Screenshot of an alert on the home page

You can set alerts up ahead of time, but they will have to be removed from your website manually. Please ensure that you are doing this regularly to avoid cluttering the home page with outdated information.

Adding a new alert

  • In order to add a new alert to your website, you will need to log in.
  • Select ‘Alerts’ from the black sidebar. This will take you to a list of alerts that are on your website.
  • Select ‘Add New’ from the black sidebar. This will take you to the editor.
  • From here you can edit your alert in the same way that you would a typical page. You can find out more about adding a page here.
  • Don’t forget to click the blue ‘Publish’ button to add your alert to your website.

Using the ‘read more’ tag

Alerts are designed to be simple and eye-catching. Ideally they shouldn’t display more than a line or two of text to ensure that visitors don’t simply skim over them. There is a way to limit the amount of text that displays within the alert box, whilst still retaining all the information when the alert is viewed fully. This is due to the ‘read more’ tag.

Screenshot of the alert with the read more tag.

  • In order to add the ‘read more’ tag to your alert, you will need to log in.
  • Select ‘Alerts’ from the black sidebar. This will take you to a list of alerts that are on your website.
  • Select ‘Add New’ from the black sidebar. This will take you to the editor.

Screenshot of the alert editor with the read more tag highlighted.

  • Notice the icon that has been highlighted, the one that looks like a dotted line in between two thick lines. Selecting this will insert the –MORE– line break into your alert.
  • Anything above the line will display on your alert on the home page. Ensure that it is brief.
  • Anything below the line will display when a visitor clicks on the ‘read more’ button. This is where you can include all the information that they may require.
  • Don’t forget to click on the blue ‘Publish’ button to ensure that your alert is saved.

Creating an alert for the future

It may be that you are aware of some information that patients will need to be alerted to, but it isn’t relevant for the moment. Perhaps your surgery will be holding a flu clinic, but it won’t be open for several months. You can create the alert now, and set it to publish on a particular date in the future.

  • In order to create an alert for the future, you will need to log in.
  • Select ‘Alerts’ from the black sidebar. This will take you to a list of alerts that are on your website.
  • Select ‘Add New’ from the black sidebar. This will take you to the editor.
  • From here you can edit your alert in the same way that you would a typical page. You can find out more about adding a page here.
  • On the right hand side of your screen, you will see a small box with the following options.

Screenshot of alert options

  • Select ‘Edit’ next to the Published on option. This will open up an option to select a specific time and date.

Screenshot of the date options for the alert

  • NB: Please be aware that the date is in the American style, with the month displaying before the day.
  • Select the time and date that you wish your alert to go live, and then select the blue ‘Update’ button.
  • Don’t forget the select the blue ‘Publish’ button in the alert editor to ensure that your alert is saved.
  • Your alert will now only display on your website once the particular time and date have been reached.

Deleting your alerts

Unfortunately, there is currently no way for your alerts to automatically delete after a certain amount of time. They will have to be deleted manually. We recommend that you check your alerts regularly to ensure that visitors are still receiving relevant information.

  • In order to delete an alert, you will need to log in.
  • Select ‘Alerts’ from the black sidebar. This will take you to a list of alerts that are on your website.
  • By hovering your mouse over the name of the alert you wish to delete, you will notice that a list of options appear.

Screenshot of alert in alerts menu

  • By selecting ‘Bin’, you will be able to remove your news item from your website.

After deleting an alert you may get a pop up message warning you about the deletion. Unless you have linked the alert on lots of other different pages, you can safely ignore this pop up.

Restoring an alert

If you accidentally bin an alert that you wished to remain on your website, you are able to restore it.

  • In order to restore an alert to your website, please log in.
  • Select ‘Alerts’ from the black sidebar. This will take you to a list of alerts that are currently displayed on your website.
  • By looking at the menu at the top, you will notice that there is a ‘Bin’. This contains the alert that we accidentally deleted.

Screenshot of bin in alert menu

  • Select ‘Bin’, and your deleted alert will appear. By hovering your mouse over the name of the alert that you wish to restore, you will notice that a list of options appears.

Screenshot of alert submenu options

  • By selecting ‘Restore’, your alert will reappear on your website.

WARNING: If you select ‘Delete Permanently’, then you will no longer be able to restore your alert. Be careful where you click!